My Cuban Radio Silence

I was radio silent for the past few weeks because I was preparing to go on a vacation.  I was headed to Cuba (read: Coo-Ba).  I was scared, excited, humbled, thrilled, terrified but most of all I was thankful.  Americans can visit Cuba freely for the first time in over five decades.

There’s so many angles to use.  So many topics that could be discussed and in time I just may do that.  I’m still processing; still trying to get my head wrapped around my time warp jump into the 50’s that is Cuba.  The Industrial Age is very much alive there!

What I will do is share my trip with you in pictures.

First View of Cuba

First View of Cuba

My B&B in Central Habana

My B&B in Central Habana

The money! It's called the CUC.

The money! It’s called the CUC.

A typical local market.

A typical local market.

Market 2

A slip back in time.

A slip back in time.

And, another time slip...

And, another time slip…

The Pope is visiting Cuba next month (Sept 2015).

The Pope is visiting Cuba next month (Sept 2015).

Looking across the Bay at Central Havana. This view is from the municipality of Regla in Cuba.

Looking across the Bay at Central Havana. This view is from the municipality of Regla in Cuba.

A typical Cuban street.

A typical Cuban street.

I’ll come back to Cuba and other topics and angles over the course of the next few months.  Ahh.  One thing I truly miss is the Cuban coffee!  Those tiny cups were black blissful gold…

9 thoughts on “My Cuban Radio Silence

    • I hope you do too! Since December 17th, 2014, Americans have the right to visit Cuba without approval from the Dept. of State. There are now 12 categories of Americans that can travel to Cuba as of this moment. You can self-identify in any of these categories.

      Like

  1. Wow you’re bringing Cuba almost live to me. I have long admired Cuba from far away Ghana. Uncountable numbers of Cuban doctors work in Ghana and there’s also student exchange programs between the two countries since the 1960s. Thanks alot. Expect to read more from you.

    Like

  2. What an exciting opportunity! The pictures are gorgeous! I’m eager to hear/read more about your trip. I have admired Cuba for so long, it is dream of mine to travel there soon. With the embargo being lifted, I hope to do so soon. Until then I will settle for your writing! So glad I stumbled on this post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

