[Quiet Thoughts] Grief Again

Kyra, I give my solidarity to you as well.

Without sounding trite, I say — Keep hope alive! We all must live to find the grace and favor of the most High.

Peace and light,
NB

Black. Bunched. Mass. Mom.

Photo: I have spent a lot of energy nursing my transplanted daisies to health over the last 2 weeks. Here one has popped. Just the faintest bit of joy on what was otherwise an excruciating day.

I have been thinking about how to write this post since yesterday morning, when I turned on the news and learned about the massacre in Charleston. I considered my feelings, consulted the much more eloquent words of my favorite thinkers and writers…

and I’ve sat down to write this post multiple times. Sometimes by long hand, sometimes in my word processor…

I keep coming up empty.

I’ve started a draft by writing about my fear: Is there no sacred place for Blackness, no safe place? Then I chastised myself, throwing the paper away. If you give into the fear, Kyra, the terrorist wins. Don’t give him your fear. Don’t feed him with your…

View original post 1,107 more words

Leave a Reply

