The Aftermath of Publishing My Third Book

It’s very hard to believe that I have published three books already.  Yet, somehow I feel that there is so much more to learn! My latest book, Making Dollars & Sense Work, is the first and only book thus far that I have decided to make available as a softcover (read: real book).  That one tiny decision made me absolutely crazed!

I knew I needed a book formatter and…I didn’t know what else!  Yes, I was that thrown by one additional detail in my indie publishing journey.

I survived indie publishing tshirt pic

It was my very best friend and writing buddy, K.C. Wise, who alerted me to the fact that I need images/imagery incorporated into this nonfiction personal finance book.  This way, the reader eye will not become fatigued by the information &/or the density of words on the page.  My brain farted when she first told me this; but I pushed through the feelings of ambiguity and began researching to find an answer that I knew was out there.

[Did I mention that K.C. is an amazing nonfiction writer?  Her fiction kicks butt, too! Can’t wait to read her first published book!]

The solution was E.M. Tippetts Book Designs.  Emily and her team of graphic and book designers made the process easy!  They even called me — yes, on the phone! — and walked me through the steps and gave me insight into the process so I could be a collaborative partner in the process of making my theoretical book into a physical reality.

I am now anxiously awaiting my galley proof from the publisher to see my work in actual reality!  You have no idea how excited I am by all of this!!

Being an Indie author, I knew that the content itself is very important.  I knew that the words themselves were key and that the work had to be edited!  So, my faithful friend and editor/proofreader/book re-structurer KLM Editorial was on the case.  My beta readers were all very helpful after I got down the first and second drafts (thank you KC, Sharon, Andrew and Sue!).  Then, back to KLM the book went.

By adding the physical softcover book as an option, this is where 3 additional sets of eyes were employed to further perfect Making Dollars & Sense Work.  In total, this book has been viewed by 8 pairs of eyes plus the review system of my publisher (have no idea how many sets of eyes are there!).  The team that arose to make this book happen puts me in awe.  I did not set out to have this many people involved; it just happened.  This book just happened!

Love Indie Authors pic

Long story short, I started 2015 with a New Year’s resolution of beginning a novel generational women’s fiction novel for which I have a fully drafted outline from start to finish.  However, I felt such a resistance while writing it that I became conflicted.  I spoke with a trusted friend and they suggested that I pull back and write for myself.  I should write that thing that was important to me that would bubble out of me without hesitation.  My reaction?  I laughed.  I had just finished book 1 of a paranormal series (Fury From Hell) and I had two fully executed outlines to choose from  Writing what I wanted?  There was no time for that!

About a week later, I tried to write more for the generation women’s fic novel.  I gave up after only writing one page and began to doodle-write (free-write) on a blank MS Word page.  About 3 hours later I looked up and had about 5,000 words of what 2 months later became Making Dollars & Sense Work: A Financial Primer for Single Moms & Dads Plus College Kids Too!

Making_Dollars_and_Sense_Work_cover

So, you see, from its inception, this book has been a group project.  This is why I say this Indie journey I find myself on is ever evolving and I know that no matter how many books I publish there will always be more to learn.

To all of those who helped directly, and those who helped indirectly (thank you, Mom!) I send you blessings and heartfelt thanks to all you sacrificed to help me get this book out to those who will find it useful.

I would love your comments and thoughts on your experiences in your Indie journey.  How has it been for you?

If you get a chance, please follow me on Twitter (my favorite social media platform). I’m on Pinterest, too.  Still trying to figure that one out! LOL.  Oh! I have a new FB writer page but I am so in the dinosaur phase of learning FB I hope I direct you to the right one! 🙂  My new FB Writer page – https://www.facebook.com/RochelleScribe.

All the best,

Rochelle aka The NoteBook Blogairy

5 thoughts on “The Aftermath of Publishing My Third Book

    • Pam, thank you so much for stopping by! I very much appreciate you and your time! Your books have been foundational in shifting my awareness so that I can do what I was put here to do — write! Many, many thanks! And please — write another E book!!! I need 9 more experiments!! 🙂

      Like

  1. Congratulations. I did it in reverse and published a paperback (I wanted to feel it in my hands and see it on a shelf) first and just recently did the Kindle Version. I’m working on another unrelated book at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Best of The NoteBook Blogairy for 2015! | The NoteBook Blogairy

Leave a Reply

