Gluten-Free Breakfast on a Snowy Day

GF Bkfst_Jan 27 2015

Snow Day Breakfast: Cheesy Grits, Scrambled Egg Whites, Canadian Bacon & GF Biscuit

Snowy Day_Tues Jan 27 2015

The view from my window this morning shortly before 9am (EST).

With all of the snow out there my family and I wanted a breakfast that would keep us full and comf-tee. (Yeah, I said it.)  I knew I wanted the Canadian Bacon (which I bought at Walmart) and grits.  Peeking in the fridge, I spied monterey jack cheese and knew cheese had to go into those grits!  But something was missing — a carb.

Since I am going back to a gluten-free diet, I knew that I needed to poop, or get off the #glutenfree baking pot.  I picked up four boxes of the Gluten Free Cafe flour (that can only be purchased at Walmart; I called the company to check) and they were sitting in the cabinet waiting patiently for their turn to be a part of one of our family meals.

GF Flour_Walmart

THE GF flour of my choice! (Ignore the bread in this pic. That was another day/another post.)

 

Today became the day.  In my pre-gluten-free days I was a pretty good baker.  So, I pulled out my well-used Betty Crocker 40th Anniversary edition cookbook, turned to page 38 and just went in and began making Baking Powder Biscuits.

Using only the Gluten Free Cafe flour (not even adding any extra Xanthan Gum!) I doubled the following recipe.

1/4 shortening (I used soft margarine)

2 cups Gluten Free Cafe All purpose baking mix

1 TBL sugar (white), if desired

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt, if desired (I usually use 1/2 tsp)

3/4 cup milk (I used unsweetened Almond Milk)

Heat oven to 450 degrees.  Cut shortening into flour, sugar, baking powder and salt with pastry blender until mixture resembles fine crumbs.  Stir in just enough milk so dough leaves side of bowl and rounds up into a ball.  (Too much milk makes dough sticky; not enough milk makes biscuits dry.)

Turn dough onto lightly floured surface.  Knead lightly 20 to 25 times, about 30 seconds (I find you don’t need to do this particular step with GF flour as there is no gluten that needs to bind!).  Roll or pat 1/2″ thick.  Cut with floured 2 1/2″ biscuit cutter.  Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet about 1″ apart for crusty sides, touching for soft sides.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes, or until golden brown (these GF biscuits don’t seem to brown well…).  Immediately remove from cookie sheet.

Yield (based on a double batch): 14 biscuits

Calories: Original version says 185 per biscuit — who knows for these GF ones but pretty sure they’re close.

Now, I did add extra soft margarine — about 1 1/2 TBL more.  I also did not measure the milk; I just poured until the dough looked right.  It is to be firm but soft and it is just to come together.  Please do not over knead these (or, the original recipe of gluten flour) or you will get chewy (read: not nice!) biscuits.

GF Biscuits_raw_Tues Jan 27 2015

My dough looked pretty much like gluten dough! It felt similar as well!!

 

 

 

 

Baked GF Biscuits_Jan 27 2015

Baked GF Biscuits

 

They did not rise like I thought they would but they did bake all the way through and they tasted pretty OK!  I was amazed.  They were not crumbly.  They did hold nicely together.  Please do not eat them as they come right out of the oven!  These babies need to ‘rest’ like protein does after they come.  You can eat them 5 – 10 minutes after they come out and then you’ll go — Oh! Not bad.  If you eat it right out of the oven, they taste like sand. (Seriously!)

My next experiment will be to add some additional Xanthan Gum to this recipe to see if I can get flakiness into these biscuits.  So glad I shook fear off and allowed myself to bake today!

Ta-ta for now,

NB

Leave a Reply

