Feel Good Friday – #FGF

This has been an exciting, nerve-wrecking New Year.  Things are not always what they seem.  Projects warp and reform themselves into things you barely recognize and the weather has been surprisingly mild.

Or, this could all be just my experiences here in the Big Apple. 🙂

See, I’ve been trying to get (back??) on the New Age/New Thought/Positivity band wagon.  It seems I feel off the wagon some years ago.  Don’t quite remember when.  However, my early morning first thoughts are not quite filled lightness and air as they were at one point in my life.

For the last 6 – 8 months, I have been reading books to help me navigate back onto a path that will lead me to inner fulfillment without the material trappings of those things we seem to revere here in the West.  Inner peace, it is touted, proceeds any other kind of fulfillment.

So, I’ve been reading some books to help me in various arenas of my life…

Trust the Process: An Artist’s Guide for Letting Go – Shaun McNiff

An Invisible Thread: The True Story of an 11-year-old panhandler, a busy sales executive, and an unlikely meeting with destiny – Laura Schroff and Alex Tresniowski

Gotta Find a Home: Conversations with Street People – Dennis Cardiff

Why You’re Stuck: You Guide to Finding Freedom From Any of Life’s Challenges – Derek Doepker

Just Ask the Universe: A No-Nonsense Guide to Manifesting Your Dreams – Michael Samuels

E Squared – Pam Grout

E Cubed – Pam Grout (reading)

There are others but these are the ones that stick out the most.  Not only do I find I need to read the how-to books, I also want to read the personal stories of people who DID things different from what ‘society’ says is proper.  I want to “see” through the eyes of people who took that other path in the woods.

The Road Not Taken – Robert Frost

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;        
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,         
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.         
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

You know what I found out?  Deep down inside we’re all pretty much the same.  We’ve had so much practice at following all of the right society-approved cues/habits that we just ignore the part of us that’s screaming for freedom inside of our skulls.  It gets to the point that you no longer hear your id’s screams for escape from imprisonment from social mores.  We all just go along with the set program of achieve by any means necessary.  Until one day we wish we hadn’t woken up on that corner of the bed, or that sidewalk.

It is when we reach such a dire state that we usually take stock.  However, from all I’ve read, we need to take stock much sooner to ward off any ill effects.  But what are the signs of an oncoming (existential??) crash?

Apathy

Listlessness

Boredom

Always wishing for something exciting/different to happen

Anger

Depression

Sleeplessness

If you are finding any of these things happening on a regular basis say for the last month?  You need to make a change NOW.  Pick up a book in the self-help/New Thought section of your favorite brick-n-mortar bookstore, or online bookseller, that grabs you.  If you feel a cover, or a title, pull at you or you happen to resonate with the cover image, or the blurb — pick it up and read it immediately!  It’s what you need to begin feeling good again.

I highly recommend Pam Grout’s books.  They’re fun, easy and will definitely put a smile on your face!  The Alby Principle is a really fun one to try.  Watch this video to see what I mean.

In the meantime, have an awesome #FGF (FeelGoodFriday) and have the best weekend of your life.

Ta-ta for now,

N.B.

Leave a Reply

