Gluten Free Not-So Baking Beauties: GF Buttermilk Biscuits

For the longest time I’ve wanted light fluffy biscuits.  Well, at least flaky biscuits. I had given up that dream when I went gluten free.  But yesterday I had a fierce hankering for a comfort-food biscuit.  I searched and found Jeanine’s Baking Beauties blog and a recipe for biscuits that looked pretty good.  You can check out Jeanine’s recipe here.  Jeanine’s recipe promised big, fluffy, gluten free biscuits.  My brain also added in flaky.

I luckily had all of the ingredients in the house but I did some substitutions based on my particular food sensitivities.  So this is the recipe I made:

  • 1 1/4 cups brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 3 teaspoons xanthan gum
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup cold Smart Balance Purely Better Buttery Spread, cut into chunks
  • 3 large eggs, egg whites only
  • 1/3 cup almond milk with 1/2 teaspoon cider vinegar stirred in and let sit for 5 minutes

I followed all of the rest of Jeanine’s directions as these directions are identical to when I used to make biscuits using traditional flours.  You can find the recipe here.

You can see the pictures of each step of my biscuit journey below.  I also found that a 12-minute bake time was sufficient for these biscuits.

1st GF Biscuit flour and margarine 11 9 2014

1st Dough GF Biscuits 11 9 2014

1st Unbaked GF Biscuits 11 9 2014

1st Baked GF Biscuits on cookie sheet 11 9 2014

 

1st Baked GF Biscuits 11 9 2014

When the biscuits came out they were delicious! As they cooled, they weren’t as good and moist as they were shortly after they came out of the oven.  Clearly these are same day eating biscuits!

This is a fabulous base recipe and I am very happy to have found it.  I can now play around with different flours to get a better mouth-feel and taste.  I think I will exclude the garlic powder next time! 🙂

Ta-ta for now,

NB

 

 

Leave a Reply

