Author Drop-In: Melissa Holden ~ Searching for Katherine

Melissa, tell us about yourself.

I’m a third year student studying Creative and Professional Writing at Canterbury Christ Church University. I’m originally from Dartford but currently live in Canterbury.  As well as writing novels and blogging, I am also Editor for Her Campus CCCU as well as maintain a part time job.

What inspired you to write your first book, and what was it?

My first book was The Snow Killer and it was actually the image I used for the cover. I always wondered what it would be like if snow could kill, but then it escalated to a murder thriller instead.

What made you want to be a writer?

I used to read Jaquline Wilson books religiously and I remember getting one of her “Create Your Own Book” sets for my birthday when I was 9. It was terrible, but I haven’t stopped writing since.

Did writing this new book teach you anything and what was it?

My latest book, Searching For Katherine, has taught me so much. I usually rush my projects but this time I took it slow and have ended up with something I am very proud of. It also taught me that it takes a team to write a good book, not one stressed individual.

What is your greatest strength as a writer?

My determination. I’m a very profilic writer and I believe you should do everything you can to get your name out there.

 

Tell us about your latest work. Can you share a little of it with us (blurb)?

My new novel is Searching For Katherine

Blurb:

Jennifer and Katherine are living the typical post-university life, drinking lots of tea and going clubbing. But when Katherine is kidnapped in a night club, Jennifer’s whole world is turned upside down.

Could her luck finally have changed for the better when Marcus enters her life, or is it about to get a whole lot worse?

I loved writing this novel. It was also a personal challenge as it’s the longest book I’ve written so far. I look forward to my readers thoughts.

Does the writing get easier with each new book?

Writing is never easy, but I think that’s the point. I always enjoy it and I love to challenge myself by trying new things.

 

Searching for Katherine_cov

How did you come up with the title?

The title for Searching For Katherine just fits. It’s exactly what the book is about, and yet there is so much more to it then you first realise.

Can you tell us about your main character?

I have two main characters – both female protagonists, Katherine and Jennifer. They are best friends and flat mates, but after Katherine goes missing you follow the journeys of both women and learn who they are without each other and it shows just how much they need to be together.

How did you develop your plot and characters?

I like to think of my characters as real people, because then they develop on their own.  A lot of character development was done in my later drafts, as I like to write very character-based stories.

What do you love about independent publishing?

I love the creative control, the solitude but above all I love the freedom of it.

****

Where can readers find you?

Twitter: @melissaholden94

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MelissaHoldenWriter

WordPress: https://youngunknownauthor.wordpress.com/

Readwave: http://www.readwave.com/melissaholden94/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7444020.Melissa_Holden

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCaj56g9nJ2bQCQyY_SgKYg

 ***

Where can readers purchase your book?

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Searching-Katherine-Melissa-Holden-ebook/dp/B00OIQVAIS/

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Searching-Katherine-Melissa-Holden-ebook/dp/B00OIQVAIS/

3 thoughts on “Author Drop-In: Melissa Holden ~ Searching for Katherine

Leave a Reply

