Schar’s Pizza Link to Greatness

I was starving for something tasty for dinner on Monday.  Had no clue what I wanted to eat and was rather listless about the whole thing.  I picked up food I couldn’t eat for the family and stared into the cupboards for something, an idea, a recipe, to pop into my little mind.

Right.  Nothing happened.

I went to the fridge, opened it and stared at the contents.  Nothing pinged.

Went back to the cupboard and my eyes slide over the Schar pizza crusts box.  I noticed that the expiry date was coming up and knew I should use it.  So, yeah I decided on gluten-free pizza.  This should have come earlier as a huge “Eureka!” moment but it didn’t.  I was neck deep in crossroads relating to other areas of my life.  Choosing and preparing food for myself was rather low on the list.

However, as I pulled out the crust the various items I had previously glanced over in the fridge now practically jumped out at me!

  • pasta sauce (doubling for pizza sauce)
  • grated parmesan cheese (for richness and add’l flavor)
  • sliced portabella mushrooms
  • fresh cilantro
  • fresh green/red pepper slices
  • Thin ‘n Trim Wildfire Buffalo Chicken sausage, diced
  • Monterey Jack Cheese

So this is how I built my Schar gluten free pizza.  As each layer was placed on the lovely round delicious smelling crust I became more and more excited!  When I was done this is what my unbaked pie looked like…

unbaked Schar pizza_10 6 2014

Isn’t it a beaut??  I put it in a hot oven (425 degrees) and baked it until the crust became crispy firm on the edges (approximately 19 minutes).  Then, the pie looked, as follows:

baked Schar pizza_10 6 2014

I’m the only gluten free one in my home so why was my pizza finished in less than 40 minutes??  Exactly!  This pizza came out scrumptious!!

So when you get into a what-to-eat? funk try a Schar pizza crust and the toppings I tried above.

Schar pizza crustTa-ta for now!

~ NB

 

 

Leave a Reply

