Grammies Jambalaya By Way of Melissa Bess Reed (Gluten Free Lifestyle Series)

So I needed food that would be tasty after a long tiring day, right?  I figured I might as well jump right into some comfort food that would (hopefully) warm me up on this brisk early Fall evening and make my mouth sing.

I picked up my Kindle and swiped my way to Melissa Bess Reed’s Gluten Free Lifestyle Series: Silly Yaks Favorite Recipes.  I swipe past several yummy sounding entrees but am stopped by Grammies Jambalaya which promises to only take 30 minutes to cook.  I have practically everything except a couple of the veggies and the instant rice.  I pick them up and race home excited to try it.

I chopped up the veggies — a green pepper, a yellow pepper, a yellow onion, parsley, garlic, celery and butter (I used non-GMO margarine made from pea protein).  I saute the veggies as I chop up the apple chicken sausages and prep the ground turkey (no seafood for us as we’re allergic).

Grammies Veggies_9 22 2014I line up all my other ingredients so it will be a snap to add to the cast iron pot.  Then, after 3 minutes of sauteing, I add the two proteins and let it cook down for a few minutes.  Added the water and the rest of the ingredient and lowered the flame to allow it to simmer for 30 minutes.

Then, WALLA — JAMBALAYA TIME!

Gammies Jambalaya_finsihed 9 22 2014

Everyone in the house loved it!  The apple chicken sausage was a huge hit! (I used that instead of the smoked sausage the recipe called for.  Why? <shrug>  Had the apple chicken sausage in the fridge and wanted to try the sweet savory thing.  You can find out more about this great gluten free cookbook here.  I wrote a review about it.

Melissa Bess Reed

Author Melissa Bess Reed

 

SillyYaks

Gluten Free Lifestyle Series: Silly Yaks Favorite Recipes

 

3 thoughts on “Grammies Jambalaya By Way of Melissa Bess Reed (Gluten Free Lifestyle Series)

  1. Pingback: Chili Rellenos Baked and Gluten Free! | The NoteBook Blogairy

  2. Pingback: Weekend Inspiration: Melissa Bess Reed, CMA, Gluten Free | The NoteBook Blogairy

Leave a Reply

