Book Thoughts: Gluten Free Lifestyle Series Silly Yaks Favorite Recipes by Melissa Bess Reed

 

SillyYaks

First and foremost, I *met* Melissa Bess Reed online via Twitter shortly after I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease earlier this year.  We met during a Twitter gluten-free spontaneous event and have become fast friends.  Why?  She’s a wonderful person and secondly, she has great ideas and recipes that can help a neophyte Celiac like myself.

However, after reading her book Gluten Free Lifestyle Series: Silly Yaks Favorite Recipes, I gained a new respect for her and her gluten-free journey.  She has been gluten-free for over 15 years and is a Certified Medical Assistant as well as a graduate of the Harvard Medical School CME Certification for Celiac Disease Education.  Melissa is the real deal when it comes to good solid information about Celiac Disease.

This book contains recipes for appetizers, sides, salads, soups, entrees and my personal favorite — desserts!  Melissa even shares a gluten free Hollandaise sauce with readers.  The recipes are easy-to-read and well laid out.  Wherever possible, she includes pre-packaged items in her recipes.  At first, I felt this was a negative as I like to make everything ‘from scratch’ however think of the book’s title — Gluten Free Lifestyle.  When you have a full life (with children in my case!), it behooves you to shave time off prep time whenever you can.  By utilizing something that is already prepared and adding to other fresh ingredients you can create a delicious gluten-free meal without the much longer prep times I’ve come to now expect on my new diet.  This is why Melissa’s line of cookbooks are great of the the lifestyle of a person who is choosing to remove gluten from their diet.

Some of my favorite recipes are: Chili Relleno Bake, Grammies Easy Jambalaya, Easy Fish Tacos, Gluten Free Red Velvet Cake, Gluten Free Pumpkin Cheesecake (OMG!!) and the Pecan Pie (complete with a GF pastry crust recipe!).  I did not realize that there was such a thing as coconut flour and because of this book I went out into the world to my neighborhood health food store and there it was just sitting there waiting for me to up my gluten free culinary game!

Many of the recipes in this book are our collective favorites, except these are the Gluten-free versions — potato salad, coleslaw, veggie melt, French Onion Soup, Cobb Salad, Corn Dogs, Cheesy Garlic Biscuits and I could go on.  This is a virtual gluten-free primer one that I will keep very close to me so that I can eat foods that I love but now those foods will love me back!

This is a great resource in your gluten free arsenal!

 

Melissa Bess Reed

Rating: 5 Blogairy Notebooks

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Thoughts: Gluten Free Lifestyle Series Silly Yaks Favorite Recipes by Melissa Bess Reed

  1. Pingback: Grammies Jambalaya By Way of Melissa Bess Reed (Gluten Free Lifestyle Series) | The NoteBook Blogairy

Leave a Reply

