Finding Voice on the Path of the Worker’s Life, Part 2

So, it’s been a few days since I began wrestling with this idea of ‘voice’.  I’ve been reading Shaun McNiff’s Trust the Process: An Artist’s Guide to Letting Go.  One line struck me…

If the ego is always in command, there is no room for the truly unusual and new insights to appear.

Another passage that struck a cord within me was this one…

…art has to flow naturally from the streams of an individual person’s experience.  Creation is a process of emanation.  Nothing will happen unless we start working and allow the practice of our particular disciplines to mix with the streams of ideas and experiences that are constantly moving through daily life.

Okay.  I had to stop and mull on this for a few hours.  For me, this means that one has to be true to oneself and express their authentic self within their written works.  There can be no dodging, bopping and weaving trying to hide behind pseudonyms.  There cannot be subterfuge in creating characters that spring forth from your imagination; you cannot hide aspects of them that you’d rather not deal with.

All of these things have their place in building a particular character to express a certain type of persona for a certain type of book.  But, is this the character — one who is inauthentic — in every single book you write?  Then, the writing is flat, lifeless, needs to be elevated to the next level. 🙂

With this is mind, I’m working on letting my characters speak and express themselves freely even if I, the author, do not sanction their views!  Regarding my characters, I will stand upon and beside the 5th amendment!

That’s all for now.  I’m still weaving my way through this fascinating book on the creative process.  I’m understanding more and more that “writer’s block” is merely a figment of our imaginations.  If we suffer from it, we just may be truly suffering from repressing something we’d rather not deal with consciously.  But maybe, just maybe…it’s the right time to jump in and let go.

Leave a Reply

